“Prose both scabrous and poetic.” – Publishers Weekly. “Proust meets Chandler over a pint of Guinness.” – Spectator. “A sheer pleasure.” – Tana French. “Among the most memorable books of the year, of any genre.” – Sunday Times. “A hardboiled delight.” – Guardian. “Imagine Donald Westlake and Richard Stark collaborating on a screwball noir.” – Kirkus Reviews. “A cross between Raymond Chandler and Flann O’Brien.” – John Banville. “The effortless cool of Elmore Leonard at his peak.” – Ray Banks. “A fine writer at the top of his game.” – Lee Child.

Friday, January 4, 2013

And So To Jerusalem

Laurence O’Bryan’s debut novel, THE ISTANBUL PUZZLE (Avon), did very well for itself, thank you very much, when it was nominated in the Ireland AM Crime Fiction category at last year’s Irish Book Awards. The second in the ‘Puzzle’ series is set in Jerusalem, if the title (THE JERUSALEM PUZZLE) is any clue, with the blurb elves burbling thusly:
An archaic manuscript contains a secret, one that could change the world … Behind Lady Tunshuq’s Palace in the Muslim quarter of Jerusalem, archaeologist Max Keiser has been found dead. In the same city, Doctor Susan Hunter, who was translating an ancient script discovered in Istanbul, is missing. With his girlfriend Isabel Sharp, Sean Ryan is about to piece together the mystery of his colleague Max’s death and Susan’s disappearance. But as they explore the ancient and troubled city, they soon find themselves drawn into a dangerous and deadly game of fire. A taut thriller in the tradition of Dan Brown and Robert Harris.
  If that sounds like your cup of Darjeeling, get thee hence to Laurence O’Bryan’s interweb lair, where he’s running competitions to win signed first edition copies of THE JERUSALEM PUZZLE over the next couple of weeks …

2 comments:

Laurence O'Bryan said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Laurence O'Bryan said...

Thanks Declan! No launch party for this one, just off into the wind with it and we see how it goes!

Thanks all for your interest and support.