“Burke shows again that he’s not just a comic genius, but also a fine dramatic writer and storyteller.” – Booklist. “Prose both scabrous and poetic.” – Publishers Weekly. “Proust meets Chandler over a pint of Guinness.” – Spectator. “Among the most memorable books of the year, of any genre.” – Sunday Times. “A hardboiled delight.” – Guardian. “Imagine Donald Westlake and Richard Stark collaborating on a screwball noir.” – Kirkus Reviews. “A cross between Raymond Chandler and Flann O’Brien.” – John Banville.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

In The Merry Merrick Month Of May

Disappointingly, at least in terms of the veracity of this post’s headline, Ken Bruen’s latest novel, MERRICK, arrives on April 15th rather than any time in May. Otherwise, it’s all good – it is, after all, a new novel from Ken Bruen. Quoth the blurb elves:
A new character and a new novel from one of the most prominent Irish crime writers of the last two decades. For fans of Ken Bruen’s Jack Taylor and Inspector Brant series, LA CONFIDENTIAL by James Ellroy and MYSTIC RIVER by Dennis Lehane, comes a noir crime story set in New York City about a rogue ex-cop from the Irish Gardai. A rouge Irish cop manipulates a transfer to work for the NYPD in an exchange program. However, it turns out that the Irish cop is really a serial killer wanted for murder in Ireland and now NYC.
  For all the details, clickety-click here

No comments: