“Burke shows again that he’s not just a comic genius, but also a fine dramatic writer and storyteller.” – Booklist. “Prose both scabrous and poetic.” – Publishers Weekly. “Proust meets Chandler over a pint of Guinness.” – Spectator. “Among the most memorable books of the year, of any genre.” – Sunday Times. “A hardboiled delight.” – Guardian. “Imagine Donald Westlake and Richard Stark collaborating on a screwball noir.” – Kirkus Reviews. “A cross between Raymond Chandler and Flann O’Brien.” – John Banville.

Monday, June 10, 2013

The Book Of Book Things

John Connolly appeared at No Alibis bookstore in Belfast last week, to launch the limited hardbound cloth edition of his latest offering, the novella THE WANDERER IN UNKNOWN REALMS (Hodder & Stoughton). Quoth the blurb elves:
Soter, a Great War veteran with no past he wants to remember, takes the occasional assignment from the London barrister Quayle. His new task is to find Lionel Maulding, a wealthy bachelor with only one distinctive attribute: a passionate, almost obsessive love of books.
  Visiting Maulding’s country home, Soter finds rooms and rooms of books, but strange and frightening things as well. Wherever Maulding has gone, Soter realizes, it had to do with the hunt for one specific book, a book with powers Soter cannot even imagine. Where Soter’s quest converges with Maulding’s, entire worlds may be revealed and changed.
  THE WANDERER IN UNKNOWN REALMS is a story in the tradition of M.R. James and Dickens, full of horrors and wonders and illustrated beautifully by Emily Hall. It will be available in early June in a limited hardcover edition, signed by author and illustrator.
  To order your copy, drop a line to David Torrans at No Alibis here. Alternatively, the book is available as a Kindle Single here

No comments: